JCI Mauritius TOYP History

Previous JCI Mauritius TOYP Nominees

The JCI Ten Outstanding Young Persons of the World Program (JCI TOYP) is the result of similar programs run by affiliated National Organizations of JCI. The original program was developed by Durwood Howes, President of The United States Junior Chamber of Commerce during 1930 – 1931. He conceived the idea of recognizing outstanding individuals by publishing a yearbook entitled “America’s Young Men” which highlighted the work of twelve exemplary leaders each year.

The United States Junior Chamber officially adopted the program in 1938. Since 1952, numerous JCI National Organizations have established their own Outstanding Young Persons Programs. Past recipients of national awards include such well-known personalities as Orson Welles, Howard Hughes, Nelson Rockefeller, John F. Kennedy, Henry Kissinger, Gerald Ford, Benigno Aquino, and many more, all named before the age of 40 and before they had achieved national or international prominence.

In 1983, JCI officially adopted the JCI Ten Outstanding Persons of the World Program. Since then, JCI has honored hundreds individuals from more than 50 nations. Each JCI TOYP honoree has shown commitment to the motto, reminding all of us that, with creative enterprise and hard work, no problem is too difficult to solve. Each honoree is a living example of JCI’s belief that:

“Earth’s great treasure lies in human personality and that service to humanity is the best work of life.”

The Prides of Mauritius since 1986 are as follows

  • 1986 Eddy Yeung
  • 1987 Raj Dayal
  • 1988 Soorya Gayan
  • 1989 Claude Wong So
  • 1991 George Chung Tick Kan
  • 1992 Patrick Athaw
  • 1993 Eric Leclezio
  • 1995 Patrice Leclair
  • 1996 Vijay Poonoosamy
  • 1997 Georges Tang
  • 1998 Coomaravel Pyaneeandee
  • 2000 Jose Therese
  • 2002 David Li Yuen Fong
  • 2003 Dr Mookund Krishna Hoolun
  • 2004 Olivier Bancoult
  • 2005 Dr Romeela Mohee
  • 2006 Issack Santally
  • 2007 Eyaz Kinno and Nivedita Nathoo
  • 2008 Gowtam Raj Chintaram
  • 2009 Vikash Tatayah
  • 2010 Mervyn Anthony
  • 2011 Dalilah Kalah
  • 2012 Billy Ng
  • 2013 Priya Issuree
  • 2014 Dean Rungen
  • 2015 Yasseen Edoo
  • 2016 Vivek Urjoon
  • 2017 Sarvesh Lutchmun
  • 2018 Hemant Mohabeer
  • 2019 Pascal Laroulette
  • 2020 Rick-Ernest Bonnier
  • 2021 Hansley Noruthun
  • 2022 Yeeshtdevisingh Hosanee
Scroll to Top